Winner of Dodson vs Formiga to Challenge for Flyweight Title Next

In his post-fight interview after winning the 1st ever UFC Flyweight Championship, Demetrious Johnson said he thought his next opponent would be the winner of the John Dodson, Jussier Formiga bout.

According to MMAJunkie.com, UFC President Dana White has confirmed with them that will be the case.

Dodson was the winner of the 14th season of The Ultimate Fighter and has posted a 2-0 record in the UFC thus far. Formiga is making his UFC debut, but the highly touted flyweight out of Brazil already boasts a 14-1 MMA record.  Jussier has officially decided to adopt his nickname as his last name. He was formerly referred to as Jussier da Silva.

UFC on FX 5 takes place at Target Center in Minneapolis on October 5th. The night’s main card airs on FX at 8pm ET/PT. The preliminary card happens on FUEL TV at 5pm ET/2pm PT and Facebook will also carry two fights which will start at 4pm ET/1pm PT.

The card will be headlined by Travis “Hapa” Browne vs. Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva. The co-main event is a welterweight bout featuring a rescheduled fight from UFC 151, Jake Ellenberger vs. Jay Hieron.

Follow me on Twitter @HeidiFang Follow the show on Twitter @fightcorner

Your Turn To Talk

Your email address will not be published.