UFC on FX 5 Dennis Hallman vs Thiago Tavares Scrapped – Hallman Couldn’t Make Weight

For the second consecutive time, Dennis Hallman was unable to make weight for his fight vs Thiago Tavares on the UFC on FX 5 card. According to a report by Ariel Helwani on FUEL TV’s weigh-in show, Hallman was seven pounds overweight for his scrap on the preliminary card. Tavares was willing to accept the fight at three pounds over, but not at seven pounds over, and the UFC ultimately decided to scratch the lightweight bout.

Considering Hallman has missed weight a 2nd time and this time it has forced a fight to be cancelled, plus the fact that he infuriated UFC President Dana White by wearing speedos in the Octagon when he faced Brian Ebersole at UFC 133, this could mean trouble for Hallman’s UFC career.  At UFC 140, Hallman fought John Makdessi at a catchweight after weighing-in at 158.5.

According to Karyn Bryant on the FUEL TV weigh-in show, because the Hallman vs Tavares fight was cancelled, Marcus LeVesseur vs Carlo Prater’s fight will be televised on the FUEL TV preliminary card.

Also overweight was Bart Palaszewski, who needs to make 146. After hitting 147 on the scale, he has time to drop one pound and should be able to get on weight for his fight vs Diego Nunes.

Things got scrappy with headliners Travis Browne vs Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva, Silva didn’t blink and continued to push his forehead towards “Hapa” during their staredown following the weigh-in.

Also, don’t forget, it’s official that the winner of John Dodson vs Jussier Formiga will get the next shot at current UFC Flyweight Champ, Demetrious Johnson.

UFC on FX 5 airs live from the Target Center in Minneapolis, MN, Friday, October 5. Facebook fight at 4pm ET/1pm PT, FUEL TV Prelims at 5pm ET/2pm PT, FX main card 8pm ET/5pm PT

Follow me on Twitter @HeidiFang Follow the show on Twitter @fightcorner

Your Turn To Talk

Your email address will not be published.