Flyweights John Moraga and Darren Uyenoyama added to UFC on FOX 9


credit Heidi Fang/MMA Fight Corner

Nine bouts are now scheduled for UFC on FOX 9 in Sacramento’s Sleep Train Arena on Dec 14. Flyweights John Moraga and Darren Uyenoyama will look to get back into the win column when they square off at the event.

The news was confirmed on the UFC’s website.

Arizona native, Moraga, last battled for the UFC Flyweight Championship and lost to Demetrious Johnson by way of submission. It was the first time Moraga had ever been stopped in his professional career. Ahead of the loss, the #4 ranked flyweight owned two UFC victories over Ulysses Gomez and Chris Cariaso.

Uyenoyama made his UFC debut at bantamweight defeating Norifumi Yamamoto. In his flyweight debut opposite Phil Harris, the 33-year-old fighting out of the Bay Area in California submitted Harris via rear-naked choke.  The #10 ranked flyweight fell short against Joseph Benavidez in his most recent effort. He was TKO’d in the second round.

Expected to headline UFC on FOX 9 is a lightweight title match pitting newly crowned champion Anthony Pettis opposite Josh Thomson.

A press conference for the event is slated for Thursday, October 3 at the Sleep Train Arena at 1pm PT. The press conference is free and open to the public and will also be streamed live at

Tickets for the event go on sale to the public on Friday, October 4. To charge by phone with a major credit card, call Ticketmaster at (800) 745-3000. Tickets will also be available at the Sleep Train Arena box office and at

As of now the Dec 14 fight card includes:
UFC Lightweight Champion Anthony Pettis vs. Josh Thomson
Urijah Faber vs. Michael McDonald
Carlos Condit vs. Matt Brown
Chad Mendes vs. Nik Lentz
Joe Lauzon vs. Mac Danzig
Scott Jorgensen vs. Ian McCall
Danny Castillo vs. Edson Barboza
Kelvin Gastelum vs. Court McGee
John Moraga vs. Darren Uyenoyama

*bouts are subject to change
*bout order not yet set

Follow me on Twitter @HeidiFang Follow the show on Twitter @fightcorner

Your Turn To Talk

Your email address will not be published.